SSL Certificate
page tools :
Home >
Accreditation > Commission for Accreditation

Commission for Accreditation

Members on the PAIS Commission for Accreditation are appointed from among member accredited schools. For each school evaluation, the Commission considers the Report of the Visiting Committee and makes a recommendation for accreditation to the PAIS Board for ratification.

Commissioners and PAIS Board members often assume additional responsibilities that uphold and strengthen the quality of private academic schools. They may chair visitation committees, assist candidate schools in understanding the PAIS accreditation standards and processes, and at times provide mentoring to schools facing special challenges

Chair: Peter Gurt, President, Milton Hershey School  


Sally Keidel                             Head of School, The Montgomery School

Steve Lisk                               Head of School, Lancaster Country Day School

Michael O’Toole                      Principal, LaSalle College High School

Jeffrey Suzik                           Head of School, Falk Laboratory School

Peter Wenigmann                   Former Assistant Head of School

Eric Jones                               Head of School, Community Partnership School

Janet Gillespie                        Head of School, The Janus School

Tim Hastings                           Head of Operations, Sewickley Academy

Jay Harvey                              Faculty, Former US Director, Wyoming Seminary

Carolyn Hapeman                   CFO, Westtown School

Margaret VanSteenwyk           Head of Upper School, The Shipley School

Nancy Donnelly                       Head of School, United Friends School

Michael Gary                          Head of School, Friends Select School

Michael Waylett                      Head of School, Linden Hall

William Kindler, Ph.D              Former Head of School

Sharon Levin                          Head of School, Jack M. Barrack Academy

Lucretia Wells                         PAIS Director of Accreditation 

Gary Niels                               PAIS Executive Director 


Pennsylvania Association of Independent Schools (PAIS) • 37 East Germantown Pike, Suite 302 • Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
610-567-2960 • Fax 610-567-2963


PAIS is an equal opportunity employer. PAIS and its member schools comply with all applicable laws and regulations regarding discrimination in admissions and employment.
PAIS is recognized by the Pennsylvania Department of Education to accredit private schools in the State of Pennsylvania.
PAIS is internationally recognized through the National Association of Independent Schools Commission on Accreditation.

Privacy Policy

email page print page large type small type
powered by finalsite